Governance & Organization

The Minnesota Supercomputing Institute is a core research facility of the University within the Research Computing umbrella group of the Office of the Vice President for Research. This arrangement positions MSI to provide leadership in the development and support of large-scale computing and data driven analytics in alignment with research strengths and priorities of the University. MSI is organized into five functional units: 

  • User Gateway Group (UGG)
  • Research Informatics Solutions (RIS) 
  • Scientific Computing Solutions (SCS)
  • Application Development Solutions (ADS)
  • Advanced Systems Operations (ASO)

MSI has two committees. Membership of each committee is reviewed annually. 

Director's Advisory Committee 


Alessandro Cembran

Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, UMN Duluth

Connie Delaney

Professor and Dean, Population Health and Systems Cooperative Unit, School of Nursing

Steve Friedenberg

Assistant Professor, Department of Veterinary Clinical Sciences, College of Veterinary Medicine; Veterinary Medical Center

Laura Gagliardi


Presidential Endowed Chair and Distinguished McKnight University Professor, Department of Chemistry, College of Science and Engineering; Director, Inorganometallic Catalyst Design Center

Thomas W. Jones

Professor, School of Physics and Astronomy, College of Science and Engineering; Fellow of the American Physical Society; American Astronomical Society; International Astronomical Union

Vipin Kumar

William Norris Professor and Head, Department of Computer Science and Engineering, College of Science and Engineering; Affiliate Faculty, Institute for Health Informatics

Suzanne McGaugh

Assistant Professor, Department of Ecology, Evolution and Behavior

Gary Muehlbauer

Professor and Endowed Chair in Molecular Genetics, Department of Agronomy and Plant Genetics, College of Food, Agricultural, and Natural Resource Sciences

Lian Shen

Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering, College of Science and Engineering; Director, St. Anthony Falls Laboratory

Daniel Stocker

Senior Director, Office of Information Technology

Beth Virnig

Professor and Senior Associate Dean of Academic Affairs & Research, Division of Health Policy and Management, School of Public Health; Director, Research Data Assistance Center; Masonic Cancer Center; Minnesota Population Center

Scott Vrieze

Assistant Professor, Department of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts

Jim Wilgenbusch Director of Research Computing, Office of the Vice President for Research

HPC Allocation Committee

The HPC Allocation Committee reviews requests for supercomputing resources and makes allocation recommendations.

Elizabeth Ambrose

Medicinal Chemistry

Tim Griffis

Soil, Water and Climate

Jonathan Sachs

Biomedical Engineering

Gianluigi Veglia