Patents Awarded to MSI PIs – Spring 2016

The Office of the Vice President for Research (OVPR) has published a list of patents that have been awarded to University researchers during the past few months. Several MSI Principal Investigators, shown below, are on this list. The complete list can be found on the OVPR’s Inquiry blog, "Patent roll call, spring 2016." 

The PIs' group pages are linked from their names (PI names are in bold). Clicking on the Project Title on the PI page will take you to an abstract of the researchers' project(s) at MSI.


Engineering and Physical Sciences

Derek Oberreit and Christopher Hogan (Mechanical Engineering)

Drift tube ion mobility spectrometer for aerosol measurement

Valerie Pierre (Chemistry)

Luminescent probes having a phenanthridinyl antenna, and methods of use

Shalom Michaeli (Center for Magnetic Resonance Research), Silvia Mangia, and Michael G. Garwood

Magnetic resonance relaxation along a fictitious field

Jing Wang, David Y.H. Pui (Mechanical Engineering), and Sheng-Chieh Chen

Measurement of particle morphology using filtration

Dawud H. Tan, Feng Zuo, Frank S. Bates, and Christopher W. Macosko (Chemical Engineering and Materials Science)

Non-woven fibers-in-fibers from melt-blown polymer blends

Michael Tsapatsis (Chemical Engineering and Materials Science) and Xueyi Zhang

One-step synthesis of mesoporous pentasil zeolite with single-unit-cell lamellar structural features


Life Sciences

Matthew T. Andrews (Biology, UMD), Lester R. Drewes (Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, UMD), and Greg Beilman (Surgery)

Ischemia/reperfusion protection compositions and methods of using

Gary L. Nelsestuen (Biochemistry, Molecular Biology and Biophysics)

Modified vitamin K-dependent polypeptides


Software and Information Technology

Jian-Ping Wang (Electrical and Computer Engineering) and Jonathan D. Harms

General structure for computational random access memory (CRAM)

Serguei V.X. Pakhomov (Pharmaceutical Care and Health Systems)

Automatic measurement of speech fluency

Georgios Giannakis (Electrical and Computer Engineering), Juan Andrex Bazerque, and Gonzalo Mateos

Non-parametric power spectral density (PSD) map construction

Shashi Shekar (Computer Science and Engineering), Venkata Maruti Viswanath Gunturi, and KwangSoo Yang

Shortest travel path determination using critical start time points

Jian-Ping Wang (Electrical and Computer Engineering), Yang Lv, Yanfeng Jiang, and Mahdi Jamali

Spin-based logic device