One petabyte of tape storage for under $10,000? Leveraging new advances in tape media, the Minnesota Supercomputing Institute has expanded its storage portfolio to offer easy access to deep archival storage at low cost. MSI currently offers a high-performance storage solution from Panasas (3.2 PB of storage) and a second tier of storage (3.2 PB) available via an S3 interface with lower performing hardware. The demand for storage is rapidly increasing and we are constantly looking for low-cost alternatives for long and medium term storage.
Professor David Blank, an MSI PI from the Department of Chemistry, has received the College of Science and Engineering (CSE) 2016 George W. Taylor Award for Distinguished Service. This award recognizes outstanding service to the University of Minnesota. An article about the award appears on the CSE website.
Professor Theresa Reineke, an MSI PI in the Department of Chemistry, has received the College of Science and Engineering (CSE) 2016 George W. Taylor Award for Distinguished Research. This award is given to younger faculty members for outstanding research. An article about the Taylor award can be found on the CSE website.
MSI PI and Director of the Institute for Therapeutics Discovery and Development Gunda Georg presented research at this week’s American Chemical Society National Meeting that describes progress towards development of a male contraceptive pill. The research describes adjustments made to various compounds that may make them more suitable as a male contraceptive.
MSI PI Kelvin Lim, a professor in the Department of Psychiatry, was interviewed last week by local news outlet MinnPost. Professor Lim is an expert in brain disorders and answered questions about traumatic brain injury (TBI). Topics include the long-term effects of TBI and new strategies for treating it.
Assistant Professor Ran Blekhman (Ecology, Evolution, and Behavior; Genetics, Cell Biology, and Development) has been named a 2016 Sloan Research Fellow. These Fellowships are presented annually by the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation to early-career scientists and scholars.
Two University of Minnesota faculty members, both of whom are MSI PIs, are among the persons named as 2016 Cottrell Scholars named by the Research Corporation of America. The Cottrell Scholar program is designed to support research by early-career professionals in chemistry, physics, and astronomy. Both professors are in the College of Science and Engineering.
Associate Professor Erin Carlson (Chemistry) has been named by President Barack Obama to receive a Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers. This award is the highest honor presented by the U.S. government to early-career scientists and engineers.