MSI PIs Named to Academies for Excellence


Two MSI PIs have been named to the Academies for Excellence, which recognizes outstanding University of Minnesota faculty in the areas of scientific research, educational scholarship, clinical practice, and team science:

Academy for Excellence in Health Research

Jerrold Vitek (professor and chair, Neurology)

  • Professor Vitek uses MSI to study the brain’s neuronal activity in patients affected with Parkinson’s disease.

Academy for Excellence in Team Science

Lynn Eberly (professor, Biostatistics)

  • Professor Eberly uses MSI for genetics research into possible genetic determinants of stress susceptibility, which could be used to determine how children might be adversely affected by trauma in childhood.
  • The other members of the team include: Elizabeth Seaquist (professor, Medicine), Gülin Öz (professor, Radiology), Amir Moheet (associate professor, Medicine), Silvia Mangia (associate professor, Radiology), Lisa Coles (associate director, Clinical Pharmacology and Pharmacometrics, Center for Orphan Drug Research)

The awards will be presented at a reception on December 4. A full list of the awardees can be found on the website of the Office of Academic Clinical Affairs: Academies for Excellence 2019 Inductees.