New Water Network To Enable Research Collaborations

Several MSI PIs are members of a new online platform, the UMN Water Network, that will allow researchers throughout the University of Minnesota system to find collaborations and share their expertise in water-related research. The all-virtual network opened on January 27, 2021. It was founded by the Water Council, a group founded by the Office of the Vice President for Research (OVPR) to bring together University resources to address the problem of access to clean water. A story about the Water Network can be found on the OVPR’s Inquiry blog: New Water Network Designed to Help Collaborations Flow.

The PIs who are currently members of the collaborative are:

  • Professor Bill Arnold (Civil, Environmental, and Geo- Engineering)
  • Dr. Kenny Beckman (University of Minnesota Genomics Center)
  • Professor John Gulliver (Civil, Environmental, and Geo- Engineering)
  • Assistant Professor Trinity Hamilton (Plant and Microbial Biology)
  • Dr. Craig Hill (UMD - Mechanical and Industrial Engineering)
  • Associate Professor Sam Kelly (Duluth - Large Lakes Observatory)
  • Assistant Professor Amy Kinsley (Veterinary Population Medicine)
  • Dr. Jeffrey Marr (St. Anthony Falls Laboratory)
  • Assistant Professor Gene-Hua Ng (Earth and Environmental Sciences)
  • Professor Paige Novak (Civil, Environmental, and Geo- Engineering)
  • Assistant Professor Nicholas Phelps (Fisheries, Wildlife, and Conservation Biology; Director, MAISRC)
  • Professor Steve Polasky (Applied Economics)
  • Professor Michael Sadowsky (Soil, Water, and Climate; Director, BioTechnology Institute)
  • Associate Professor Cara Santelli (Earth and Environmental Sciences)
  • Assistant Professor Cody Sheik (UMD - Biology)
  • Professor Lian Shen (Mechanical Engineering; Director, St. Anthony Falls Lab)
  • Professor Andrew Simons (Fisheries, Wildlife, and Conservation Biology)
  • Professor Andrew Wickert (Earth and Environmental Sciences)