posted on December 10, 2014

Principal Investigator Dan Knights, an assistant professor in the Department of Computer Science and Engineering (College of Science and Engineering), was featured recently in an article that appeared in the [St. Paul, Minnesota] Pioneer Press. The article discusses his research into the human microbiome, for which he uses MSI. You can read the article on the website.

posted on December 9, 2014

MSI Principal Investigator Samuel Myers, Jr., a professor at the Hubert H. Humphrey School of Public Affairs, is the latest recipient of the Samuel Z. Westerfield, Jr. Award from the National Economic Association (NEA). The award will be presented at the organization’s annual meeting in January 2015. The Westerfield Award is the NEA’s highest honor.

Professor Myers specializes in research concerning social policies and their impact on the socially disadvantaged. He uses MSI to support his research, including a project to study mortgage-lending discrimination and a study of responsible banking in the Twin Cities. See more on the Humphrey School’s website.


posted on December 8, 2014

The Office of the Vice President for Research (OVPR) has published a list of patents that have been awarded to University researchers during the several months. Several MSI Principal Investigators are on this list. The complete list can be found on the OVPR's Inquiry blog post, "Patent roll call, fall 2014."

MSI PIs are shown below in bold. The PIs' group pages are linked from their names. Clicking on the Project Title on the PI page will take you to an abstract of the researchers' project(s) at MSI.

Matthew Andrews (Biology - UMD), Lester Drewes, and Greg Beilman (Surgery):

Reperfusion Protection Compositions and Methods of Using

Ramesh Nataragan, Arindam Banerjee (Computer Science and Engineering), and Hanhuai Shan:

Multiple Imputation of Missing Data in Multidimensional Retail Sales Data Sets via Tensor Factorization

Phillipe Buhlmann (Chemistry) and Paul Boswell:

Chemical Sensor

Curtis Corum, Michael Garwood (Center for Magnetic Resonance Research), Steen Moeller, Djaudat Idiyatullin, and Ryan Chamberlain:

Dipole Matched Filter for MRI

Curtis Corum, Djaudat Idiyatullin, Steen Moeller, and Michael Garwood (Center for Magnetic Resonance Research):

Multistep Correction for Angle Consistent in Radial Sampled Datasets

Apostolos Georgopoulos (Neuroscience)

Classifying and Item to One of a Plurality of Groups

Georgios Giannakis (Director, Digital Technology Center; Electrical and Computer Engineering) and Xiaoli Ma:

Estimating Frequency-offsets and Multi-antenna Channels in MIMO OFDM Systems

Nathan Lindquist, Wade Luhman, Russell Holmes, and Sang-Hyun Oh (Electrical and Computer Engineering):

Plasmonic Nanocavity Devices and Methods for Enhanced Efficiency in Organic Photovoltaic Cells

Patrick Schlievert and Marnie Peterson (Pharmacy):

Compositions and Methods for Controlling Infections

Martin Saar (Earth Sciences), Jimmy Bryan Randolph, and Thomas Kuehn (Mechanical Engineering):

Carbon Dioxide-based Geothermal Energy Generation Systems and Methods Related Thereto


posted on December 5, 2014

Several MSI Principal Investigators are involved in an interdisciplinary project that is evaluating how introducing beneficial bacteria into diabetes patients’ intestines might improve their insulin sensitivity. Insulin sends glucose from the blood into other cells in the body; people with diabetes are unable to properly regulate their blood sugar.

MSI PIs on the team include Professor Michael Sadowsky (Director, BioTechnology Institute; Soil, Water, and Climate), Associate Professor Douglas Mashek (Food Science and Nutrition), Professor Kelvin Lim (Psychiatry), and Professor David Bernlohr (Head, Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, and Biophysics). The lead researcher is Professor Alexander Khoruts (Medicine), a leader in the field of microbiota transplants.

An article about this project can be read on the OVPR’s Inquiry blog.


posted on December 4, 2014

Two opportunities in high-performance computing research are now accepting applications for their programs in 2015.

The Computational Physics Student Summer Workshop will be hosted by Los Alamos National Laboratory’s Computational Physics Division, June 8 - August 14, 2015. The workshop is open to undergraduate and graduate students who will work in small groups under the guidance of one or more mentors. Several projects are being offered. Students receive a fellowship, the amount of which is based on academic rank. The application deadline is January 26, 2015. See complete information at the program website: Computational Physics Student Summer Workshop.

Blue Waters Graduate Fellowships are open to PhD students in the second or later year of their graduate program. Fellowships provide a stipend, an allocation on the Blue Waters computing system, and a travel allowance to attend a Blue Waters-sponsored symposium. The application deadline is February 4, 2015. See complete information at the program website: Blue Waters Graduate Fellowships.