posted on September 2, 2014

MSI Principal Investigator Robert Tranquillo, Professor and Head, Department of Biomedical Engineering (College of Science and Engineering), is one of four researchers awarded a grant from the Clinical and Translational Science Institute (CTSI) and Pediatric Device Innovation Consortium (PDIC). Professor Tranquillo’s project is entitled “Preclinical Demonstration of Growth Capacity of a Tissue-Engineering RVOT Graft.” He is using MSI for a project developing a computational model that will allow evaluation of flow through tissues in engineered microvessels.

This grant is part of the Pediatric Medical Device Translational Grant Program; this is the program’s first year. An article with a program description and complete list of grant awardees can be found on the CTSI webpage.


posted on August 29, 2014

Three graduate student researchers at MSI have received fellowships for research under the MnDRIVE program area of Discoveries and Treatments for Brain Conditions. MnDRIVE is a partnership between the University and the state of Minnesota that is intended to advance research and innovation in four key areas. Besides brain conditions, the other three areas are Robotics, Sensors, and Advanced Manufacturing; Global Food Ventures; and Advancing Industry, Conserving our Environment.

The newly named Fellows are pursuing research and training in the emerging, trandisciplinary field of neuromodulation. The MSI researchers who are among the new Fellows are:

Bryan S. Baxter, Ph.D. student in Biomedical Engineering
MSI PI: Professor Bin He; Biomedical Engineering and Director, Institute for Engineering in Medicine (College of Science and Engineering)

Abbey Holt, Ph.D. student in the Graduate Program in Neuroscience
MSI PI: Associate Professor Tay Netoff; Biomedical Engineering (College of Science and Engineering)

Scott G. Warren, M.D./Ph.D student in the Graduate Program in Neuroscience
MSI PI: Associate Professor Geoffrey Ghose; Neuroscience (Medical School)

A complete list of Neuromodulation Fellows and descriptions of their projects can be found on the MnDRIVE website.

posted on August 28, 2014

Principal Investigator Thomas Hoye, a professor in the Department of Chemistry (College of Science and Engineering), has been named to receive the Ernest Guenther Award in the Chemistry of Natural Products by the American Chemical Society (ACS). The award will be presented at the ACS National Meeting in March 2015, in Denver, Colorado. See more on the chemistry website.

Professor Hoye's groundbreaking research into a fundamentally new reaction, the hexadehydro-Diels-Alder reaction, was featured in an MSI Research Spotlight last year. Experimental and initial computational results of this reaction have been published in the prestigious journal Nature.

posted on August 27, 2014

Two MSI Principal Investigators in the College of Science and Engineering (CSE) have been named Titans of Technology by the Minneapolis/St. Paul Business Journal. Professor Art Erdman (Director, University of Minnesota Medical Devices Center; Mechanical Engineering) and Professor Jian-Ping Wang (Director, Center for Spintronic Materials, Interfaces, and Novel Architectures; Electrical and Computer Engineering) will be honored at a luncheon in September. The awards recognize outstanding tech professionals and those who support technology.

Professor Erdman uses MSI for computer modeling and simulations that help solve problems in developing medical devices. MSI will be participating with the Medical Devices Center at the 2014 Minnesota State Fair on August 28, 12-6pm. Professor Wang has used MSI over the years for a number of projects related to electronic structures, most recently into the structure of Fe16N2. He has been featured this summer in articles about his most recent startup company and about the Twin Cities economy.

The Business Journal article can be read on their website. You can also see more on the CSE website.

posted on August 21, 2014

The Office of the Vice President for Research recently announced that a record 15 start-up companies based on University inventions were formed in Fiscal Year 2014, which ended on June 30, 2014. Several of these start-ups are headed up by MSI Principal Investigators. These include:

James Cloyd, Experimental and Clinical Pharmacology (College of Pharmacy): CURx Pharmaceuticals

Allison Hubel, Mechanical Engineering (College of Science and Engineering): Meso-Flow

Larry Wackett, Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, and Biophysics (College of Biological Sciences and Medical School); Michael Sadowsky, Soil, Water, and Climate (College of Food, Agricultural, and Natural Resource Sciences); and colleague Al Aksan, College of Science and Engineering: Minneputa

Michael Garwood, Center for Magnetic Resonance Research (Medical School) and colleague Donald Nixdorf, School of Dentistry: MinnScan

Jian-Ping Wang, Electrical and Computer Engineering (College of Science and Engineering): Niron Magnetics and Zepto Life Technology

John Bischof, Mechanical Engineering (College of Science and Engineering): Vigilant Diagnostics

These start-ups were assisted through the OVPR’s Office for Technology Commercialization. A complete list of start-ups and their descriptions can be found on the OVPR Inquiry blog.