Five MSI researchers are among the new McKnight Land-Grant Professors for 2009-11 recently announced by the University. They are Arindam Banerjee (Department of Computer Science and Engineering), RyanElliott (Department of Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics), Tian He (Department of Computer Science and Engineering), Julian Marshall (Department of Civil Engineering), and Martin Saar (Department of Geology and Geophysics). The awards are intended to advance the careers of outstanding junior faculty and include a research grant, summer support, and a research leave in the second year.

MSI is hosting a tutorial by Simulia on June 24 in 402 Walter Library. Simulia makes the ABAQUS suite of software. The tutorial, which is free and open to the public, will discuss computer clusters and advances in parallel computing. A complete description and registration information can be found at the Simulia website.

The SC09 Education Program and the National Computational Science Institute are offering a number of workshops over the summer and fall. Workshops are available in a number of fields related to high-performance computing, including parallel and cluster computing, biology, chemistry, physics, engineering, and computational thinking.

All costs except travel and lodging are covered. See NCSI's website for complete information.

Regents Professor H. Ted Davis, Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science, passed away suddenly on May 17, 2009. Professor Davis had been a Principal Investigator and Fellow of the Institute since its very early days. More information can be found at the Institute of Technology website. MSI's staff and researchers extend their condolences to Professor Davis's family, friends, and colleagues.

Two MSI Principal Investigators, Regents Professor Donald Truhlar, (Chemistry, MSI Fellow), and Professor David Kohlstedt (Geology and Geophysics) have been awarded membership in the National Academy of Sciences. This is one of the highest honors U.S. scientists can receive, and is given in recognition of excellence in scientific research. More information from the Institute of Technology blog.