Awards and Honors


The Office of the Vice President for Research has announced this year’s Innovation Impact Case Awa

Several MSI PIs are among the inaugural winners of the University’s new Awards for Academic Unit Service.


MSI PI Boris Shklovskii (professor, Physics and Astronomy) has been elected to membership of the

The University of Minnesota recently announced the new McKnight Presidential Fellows. Three MSI PIs are included in the 2023 class.


MSI PI Fang Li (professor, Pharmacology; co-Principal Investigator, Midwest Antivi


MSI PI Ambika Bhagi-Damodaran (assistant professor, Chemistry) has received a 2023 Cottrell Scholar Award.

Two MSI PIs have been named Distinguished McKnight University Professors. This program recognizes outstanding mid-career faculty members who have recently achieved full professor status.